Aaron Wolfinbarger Named UW’s Staff Employee of the Year

Aaron Wolfinbarger, a custodian II for the University of Wyoming’s Custodial Services, is the UW staff employee of the year.

Wolfinbarger will be honored during Staff Recognition Day Tuesday, April 16, from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. on the east side of the Arena-Auditorium (A-A). The event will feature interactive games -- set up all around the A-A -- game prizes, entertainment, food, years of service recognition and awards to UW’s outstanding staff members.

Staff Recognition Day provides an opportunity to show staff members how much they are appreciated for everything they do to keep UW -- on the main campus and throughout the state -- functioning and providing a top-notch educational experience for thousands of students.

President Ed Seidel has granted UW employees a maximum of 2.5 hours of release time to attend the event. The scheduling of release time should be a collaborative discussion between employee and supervisor to ensure the effective and efficient operation of the unit.

Free parking will be available in the lot north of the Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center, and attendees can walk across the parking lot to the A-A. Shuttle bus service will be available from the Classroom Building, Knight Hall and the A-A, with starting rotations beginning at 10:40 a.m. in front of the Classroom Building. After the event concludes at 1 p.m., the bus will make two last loops.

Presentation of the awards will be at 11 a.m. near Mickey’s Club on the east side of the A-A, with opening remarks from Seidel.

A 50/50 raffle and meat raffle are available, with tickets available for purchase here. Tickets are $1 each or six for $5, and people do not have to be present to win.

The program can be viewed on UW’s WyoCast platform by clicking here.

Wolfinbarger, who is assigned to Knight Hall, was named UW Staff Employee of the Third Quarter last fall. The award, sponsored by Staff Senate, recognizes UW staff members for their efforts toward excellence in the workplace. Wolfinbarger says he enjoys his job because it gives him the chance to help people and provides him with a sense of accomplishment. Knight Hall colleagues can attest to that. He has been employed at UW the past 11 years.

Other staff members who will be honored during Staff Recognition Day are:

Jodi K. Humphrey Award -- Kaylin Brooks, program coordinator in the Office of Academic Affairs; and Laura Cole, Department of Zoology and Physiology business manager.

E.G. Meyer Family Award -- Libby Thorson, an assistant dean of students.

All-Star Team Staff Award -- Carissa Bjorklund, senior office associate; Valorie Garrett, academic advising professional; and Jessica Steward, senior program coordinator, all at UW-Casper.

Custodian of the Year Award -- Ashley Shoefelt, Custodial Services custodian II.

Skilled Trades Award -- Paul Bernaski, Equipment Services manager.

Unsung Hero Award -- Gwen Cotterman, Division of Kinesiology and Health senior student advising coordinator; Mollie Hand, a UW LeaRN Program manager; Dora Montez, Department of Psychology senior office associate; and Alex Rickert, College of Education college affairs coordinator.

True Grit Award -- Nicholas Jesse, Wyoming School-University Partnership senior project coordinator.

Off-Campus Award -- Kimberly Howell, Casper Family Medicine Residency Program business manager.

Supervisor of the Year Award -- Kira Poulson, Human Resources benefits manager.

Sponsor of the Year -- Intercollegiate Athletics and Tyson Drew, associate athletic director for facility operations and event management.

Pete Simpson Golden Gloves Award -- Jeannie Czech, College of Agriculture, Life Sciences and Natural Resources business manager; and Mollie Hand, a UW LeaRN Program manager.

Seidel will present his Presidential Excellence Award to Christie Wildcat, Peter M. and Paula Green Johnson Student Success Center enrollment services coordinator. The award recognizes a UW staff member who exemplifies excellence and demonstrates commitment to achieving the university’s strategic plan.

For more information, call the Staff Senate office at 766-5300 or email staffsen@uwyo.edu.

graphic map of auditorium arena
Several interactive game stations have been set up for Staff Recognition Day in the Arena-Auditorium from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Tuesday, April 16. (UW Photo)

Contact Us

Institutional Communications
Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-2929
Email: cbaldwin@uwyo.edu

Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)